Remembering our Engagement

All the memories that are making this the most special time of my life.

What happened to painting the town red? Now we paint the floor red. By accident.

on May 27, 2012

Calligraphy. Sometimes I love it, sometimes I hate it. For example, last night the entire bottle of red ink decided to fall on your carpet after midnight when you were supposed to be studying. So we ended up essentially shampooing the carpet about a hundred times, used about 4 rolls of paper towels (and I don’t even use them at home), and a whole bottle of resolve. Still red ink came. Finally we had to leave it alone… I guess we will eat some of your security deposit. It was pretty annoying, but here is why I loved it.

You were a complete gentleman about it. While we were initially both on our knees blotting up the evidence from the scene, you leaned over and kissed me. Both to say “it’s ok, I’m not annoyed that you spilled the ink” and also to say “unrelated to this current activity, I love you and wanted to kiss you right then for the sake of a kiss itself.”

Every now and then you would say things like “this is fun.” At first I thought you were trying to make me feel better, but then I realized you were actually also genuinely having fun in one way – we were making a life memory. The way having everyone over for dinner and cleaning up the dishes a couple of weeks ago reminded me of the life we were going to have together, all the exciting and everyday things we will share all rolled together, this was reminding you of the same. I’m lucky that somewhere in there you share that sentimentality and can find the momentous in the mundane.

Leave a Reply

