Remembering our Engagement

All the memories that are making this the most special time of my life.

Bottom Drawer

on April 26, 2012

My mom has certainly gone out of her way to make this process fun and special for us, and especially for me. A few weeks ago she asked to meet for a coffee on a Sunday afternoon. I went there and she presented me with a card that said that she began a “Bottom Drawer” for me ten years ago. Yes, 10. Meaning when I was still 16, barely able to think beyond myself, she was off starting a collection of things that she would build for the next many years so that one day, when I got married, she would be able to present them to me and make me feel really, really special. Well, I do.

In the gift  bag were a hand-painted mirror from Hungary and a set of fine bone china mugs from Scotland. A couple of weeks later, just this last weekend, she gave me a  faberge egg locket form Russia while having a drink at Lovett’s with her best friend. Later that day, she and my dad presented me with a mosaic glass lamp from Turkey. Not only is this bottom drawer idea just so special and wonderful and fills me with so much gratitude, but it also means so much that the items were collected from all over the world.

I’ve shown you every item so far, and you have loved them all. Can you believe that 10 years ago my mom was already thinking about you and me, even though she didn’t know you yet? The funny part is that when I told you about all this, you said that I am the same way – already thinking about the children I don’t have yet, wanting to take care of them in advance.

It was sweet of you to notice that, but more importantly I was so happy you saw the pure beauty in this idea my mom had.

Plus, there is a lesson in that for you and I – she came up with an idea 10 years ago, and stuck to it – so we can too 🙂 For me, that starts with this blog – I’m going 25 posts strong now, celebrating all that is wonderful and good about this time in our lives!

P.S. I was looking at registry ideas tonight, and now that I am reflecting on the bottom drawer, I really can’t get behind the idea of a registry where we pick out different items. It’s just not us – or at least not me – to pick everything in advance. My family has taught me many things, one of which is that you should save room for the things that you love, wherever and whenever you find them. That is the opposite philosophy of a registry, where you force fit many things now simply because you have the opportunity. So I am glad I am reflecting on this tonight – I think we will get much more creative with this, or eliminate the idea altogether.

Leave a Reply

