Remembering our Engagement

All the memories that are making this the most special time of my life.

Saving the Date

on March 30, 2012

Last night we sent out our Save the Date email to our friends. It was one of the best nights we’ve had in a long time. We were up til 2 in the morning working on the website, drafting the email, going over the guest lists again to determine who to invite to what, making wording changes, final edits, debating one exclamation point or two in the subject line…

It could have been a bad night. It was stressful (in a good way), and there were lots of things we could have argued about. Stupid things, sure, in the grand scheme of things, but things nonetheless! You didn’t go to sleep the previous night because you were traveling back from San Francisco on the red eye. I myself had been up til 2am talking to you. We could have been irritable… especially me, since I am prone to that. Ordinarily the fact that sending the save the date got pushed back by a week and a half would have gotten to me, but I really didn’t care. It was so much fun!

We laughed and joked around the whole time. I loved how you got all adamant about making sure there were links to each section on the site and figured out how to do the coding for them. I was puttering around straightening up, but took plenty of breaks to come sit with you or kiss you or see what you were up to. And when it came time to send the email to our respective friends, we held hands and both hit Send at the same time. I really loved sharing that moment and then watching as people started filling out the form with their information.

I really, really appreciate all the work you put into that site. I know that you have been up late with your regular job, and this has been a lot of added work to your plate. Everyone loves it – I have gotten so many compliments already! – but most of all, I love it. I love the final product, I love all the work you did, and I love how dedicated you are to our wedding and sharing it together, despite all of the other things pulling you in different directions. So, thank you!

Leave a Reply

